Krambeck Award

Matt Scheperle – 2020 Jordon-Krambeck Award Recipient

Matt Scheperle is the recipient of the 2020 Jordon-Krambeck Award. Matt has been the IT expert for
MCQC for several years, and he designed and has maintained the present MCQC website. The
website has had thousands of visitors over the past several years, and it has provided helpful
information for those seeking assistance in finding a nursing home or long-term care facility for a
loved one. The website requires constant updating and maintenance, which Matt has handled
without any problems or delays. Matt has worked for the State of Missouri for 20 years as an IT
The Jordon-Krambeck Award is given to individuals who exemplify a total commitment to
improving the lives of recipients of long-term care. Matt has done that and more. Through
Matt’s design and maintenance of the MCQC website, MCQC has become more effective in its
efforts to provide services and care for Missouri’s elderly and handicapped citizens. Thanks, Matt for
your work in keeping our website functioning!

Krambeck Award

Dave Damico – 2016 Jordon-Krambeck Award

Dave Damico is the recipient of the 2016 Hank and Phyllis Krambeck Award. Dave is the current President of The Missouri Coalition for Quality Care (MCQC), and has served on the MCQC board in numerous capacities. Dave is currently retired after serving successfully in various public agencies, both in entry-level positions as well as management. During his previous career, he worked in programs for children, families, the elderly, and the poor. He came to MCQC with a rich heritage of experience in social programs. The Hank and Phyllis Krambeck award is given to individuals who exemplify a total commitment to improving the lives of recipients of long-term care. Dave has done that and more. Because of Dave, MCQC has become more effective in its effort to improve services and care for Missouri’s elderly and handicapped citizens. He is very deserving of this award.

Krambeck Award

Leslie Jordon & Northwest Area Agency – 2013 Jordon-Krambeck Award

This year, the 2013 award, known as the Krambeck Award, was awarded to both a Missouri Individual and a Missouri organization. 

The individual honored for 2013 is Leslie Jordon, an MCQC founding member who passed away in December 2012 after a long and courageous battle with cancer. 

On Saturday October 26, 2013, the Missouri Coalition for Quality Care presented the 2013 Krambeck Award to Mrs. Leslie Jordon. Mrs. Jordon devoted her life to ensuring that the elderly received the quality care and respect that they deserve. Mrs. Jordon worked for the former Missouri Division of Aging and was a co-founder of the Missouri Coalition for Quality Care. She passed away in December of 2012 after a long battle with cancer.

Accepting the award were her two granddaughters: Annalee and Mia Rintoul. Presenting the award to them is Ms. JoAnne Morrow, MCQC Board member and close friend of Mrs Jordon. In the second photo with Mia and Annalee are Hank and Phyllis Krambeck for whom the award is named. 

On June 17, 2013, MCQC honored the Northwest Area Agency on Aging. This agency is a planning and service agency that is charged under the Older Americans Act with identifying and meeting the needs of older adults who are at least 60 years of age in the 18-county area in northwest Missouri. Its staff and volunteers seek to empower and provide older adults of Northwest Missouri the opportunity to live safe, healthy, independent lives in the home environment of their choice. 

The Northwest Area Agency on Aging is providing valuable assistance to a large rural section of Missouri where the needs of senior residents is great. Without the services of this agency, the quality of live for seniors would be diminished. Because the goals of MCQC are to improve the quality of care and quality of life experienced by not only nursing facility residents, but also in-home care and residential people, the Missouri Coalition for Quality Care President Dave Damico was pleased to present the Krambeck Award to the agency’s Board Chair, John Murphy, and its director, Becky Flaherty.

Marianne Ronin(MCQC), Dave Damico(MCQC), John Murphy(NWMOAAA) and Becky Flaherty(NWMOAAA)
Krambeck Award

Jo Anne Morrow – 2010 Jordon-Krambeck Award

MCQC is happy to announce that the 2010 Krambeck Award has been awarded to Jo Anne Morrow.

Ms. Morrow has served many years working for the elderly and handicapped of Missouri. She serves as an attorney for the Missouri Department of Social Services working on eldercare issues. She was responsible for initiating legal action against deficient nursing homes in Missouri. She provided legal assistance to staff at DSS in dealing with problem nursing homes.

She has served on the MCQC in many capacities during her long tenure on the board. She has appeared on radio and television, appeared in court on cases, working on individual cases and other issues involving the elderly. Although she finds herself buried in work at Legal Aid of Eastern Missouri, she continues to serve as President of the MCQC Board. She truly goes beyond the call of duty.

Krambeck Award

Dr. Susie awarded the 2009 Jordon-Krambeck Award

The 2009 Krambeck Award was presented to Dr. Lylia J. Poland, better known as Dr. Susie of Kirksville, MO. A banquet was held in her honor at the Thousand Hills Restaurant in Kirksville on Saturday April 24, 2010. It was standing room only as many of her friends and patients were there to honor her. She was presented many gifts in addition to the 2009 Krambeck Award. The “Sweet Nothings” a coed acappella group from Truman State University provided the entertainment.

Dr. Susie was selected for the award for her contributions to the elderly in her area. She had worked with MCQC on an issue involving an elderly woman whose children were abusing her. She gave freely of her time including testifying in court on behalf of the woman. This is typical of Dr. Susie. Her staff and her patients stated that she is always available to her patients, day and night. No one is turned away and she becomes more than a Doctor to her patients she is their friend. Her dedication to her patients is why MCQC selected her for the 2009 Krambeck Award.

In the photo, left to right: Joanne Morrow, MCQC President, Dr. Susie, Krambeck Award Recipient, and Phyllis Krambeck, MCQC Board